Archive for August 1, 2017

theWord

Posted in Gypsy Carns on August 1, 2017 by Gypsy Carns

Psalm 57: 1-3: ” Be merciful to me, O God, be merciful to me! For my soul trusts in You; and in the shadow of Your wings I will make my refuge, until these calamities have passed by. I will cry out to God Most High, to God who performs all things for me. He shall send from heaven and save me; He reproaches the one who would swallow me up. God shall send forth His mercy and His truth.” The psalmist opens with a lament to the Lord, be merciful to me, and follows immediately by a confession of trust in the Lord. “In the shadow” The picture of hiding under the wings of a mother bird is a familiar theme in psalms. Here, the psalmist vows that he will pray only to his God, for God alone can deliver us from trouble. The Hebrew word for”performs” is translated “will perfect”. The point is that God acts on behalf of His servants.