theWord

Jesus is speaking with his disciples in John 15: 12-15: “This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends. You are My friends if you do whatever I command you. No longer do I call you servants, for servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.” A believer must obey and to obey a believer must love other believers. Jesus is our model for love. Intimacy with Him is the motive for loving as He does. Note that friendship, unlike sonship, is not a once-for-all gift, but develops as the result of obeying Jesus’ command to love. Until this point Jesus had called His disciples “servants.” A servant does what he is told and sees what his master does, but does not know the meaning or purpose of it. As friends, the disciples knew what was happening because friends develop deep fellowship by communicating with one another

Comments are closed.

