theWord

Jesus is speaking in this segment directly after having super with the apostles where He identifies Judas as the traitor and predicts Peter’s denial of Christ in John 14: 12-14: “Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do also; and greater works that these he will do because I go to My Father. And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask anything in My name, I will do it.” Jesus had accomplished the greatest works possible, including raising the dead. How could He say that believers would do greater works? The answer is seen in the extent of what the apostles did. Jesus’ work on earth was confined to Palestine; the apostles would preach everywhere and see the conversion of thousands. Peter’s message at Pentecost brought more followers to Jesus than did Jesus’ entire earthly ministry. The disciples were able to do this work because Christ would go to the Father and send the Holy Spirit to empower them and us for our ministries.

Comments are closed.

